Back to top

Former Deputy Minister Obed Bapela



• Deputy Minister in the Presidency for performance Monitoring and Evaluation of the Republic of South Africa, 2011–2014
• Member of Parliament since 2002

Academic Qualifications

• Diploma in Journalism
• Certificate in Community and Organisational Development
• Certificate in Safety and Security
• Certificate in Policy Development with specialisation in International Relations
• Currently studying towards Advanced Diploma in Development Economics at University of South Africa

Career/Memberships/Positions/Other Activities

• Part of the 1976 uprising student activists
• Member of the African National Congress (ANC) underground structures since 1979
• Member of the Congress of South African Student (COSAS) in early 1980s
• Founding member of Alexandra Youth Congress in 1983 later became its Deputy President
• Founding member of United Democratic Front (UDF) in 1983
• Member of the Civic movement later known as South African National Civic Organisation - SANCO (1985 - 1986)
• Deputy Secretary of ANC Johannesburg branch
• Regional Secretary of the ANC PWV (1991 - 1994)
• Deputy Secretary of ANC Gauteng province (1994 - 2000)
• Served as Ex-Official in the National Executive Committee of the ANC
• Detained several times and appeared in two political trials in Port Elizabeth and Alexandra (1986, and 1987 -1990)
• Member of Joint Rules Committee
• Member of National Assembly Committee
• Member of Joint Programming Committee
• Member of National Assembly Programming Committee
• Chairperson of the inter Parliamentary Group on International Relations
• Member of Portfolio Committee on Foreign Affairs and Trade and Industry
• Facilitator/Chairperson of South Africa- European Union Inter Parliamentry Meetings
• Member of Gauteng Provincial Legislature (1994 - 1999)
• Served on Gauteng Portfolio Committee on Safety and Security
• Former House Chairperson of National Assembly
• Deputy Minister of Communications of the Republic of South Africa, (1 November 2010 - 24 October 2011)