Back to top

Former Minister Trevor Manuel


Date of Birth: 31 January 1956


  • Member of the NEC from 1991 (Re-elected in 1994/97/99/02 and 2007)
  • Member of Parliament since 1994
  • Minister Trade and Industry 1994 to 1996
  • Minister of Finance of the Republic of South Africa from 4 April 1996 to 10 May 2009
  • Minister in the Presidency for the National Planning Commission 2009–2014

Academic Qualifications

  • Matriculated from Harold Cressy High School, Cape Town
  • National Diploma in Civil and Structural Engineering, from the Peninsula Technikon
  • Executive Management Programme from Stanford National University, Singapore

Career/Positions/Memberships/Other Activities

  • Part of a youth movement that attempted to launch a bus boycott across all townships of the Western Cape (1975)
  • Initiated a community newsletter entitled "Kenfacs" in the townships of Kensington/Factreton, the newsletter was used as a basis for community organisation around a series of civic issues (1979)
  • Part of a group who initiated the first community newspaper “Grassroots” (1980)
  • Active in bringing together a number of Parents Supporting Committee which were formed to generate community support for school boycotts
  • General Secretary of the Cape Areas Housing Action Committee (1981)
  • Regional Secretary and National Executive Member of the United Democratic Front (UDF) (1983)
  • Repeatedly detained without trial or placed under house arrest, spending a total of 35 months in detention for these activities (1985 - February 1990)
  • Employed with the Mobil Foundation as a Policy Manager on Entrepreneurial and Community evelopment (May 1989)
  • Elected to full-time office in the ANC (August 1991)
  • Appointed as Head of the ANC's Department of Economic Planning (1991)
  • Minister of Trade and Industry (1994 - 3 April 1996)
  • Appointed to the Advisory Committee of the United Nations (UN) Initiative for Trade Efficiency (August 1994)
  • Governor on the Board of the World Bank, African Development Bank Group and Development Bank of Southern Africa
  • Chairman of the Board of Governors of the International Monetary Fund at Annual meetings in Prague in September 2000
  • Chair of the Development Committee of the World Bank (November 2001 to September 2005)
  • Served as Special Envoy to the Secretary-General, UN for the Conference on Financing for Development, held in Monterrey, Mexico from 18-20 March 2002
  • Appointed as Commissioner in the International Task Force on Global Public Goods (May 2003)
  • Served as a Commissioner in the Commission for Africa from 2004 until 2005
  • Served on the Commission on Growth and Development as a Commissioner from 2006 until 2008
  • Chaired the G-20 meetings (November 2007)
  • Appointed Special Envoy for development finance by the United Nations Secretary General Mr Ban Ki Moon in May 2008
  • Installed as Chancellor of the Cape Peninsula University of Cape Town in August 2008


  • Elected by the World Economic Forum as a Global Leader for Tomorrow (January 1994)
  • Awarded the Africa Prize by the German Africa Foundation, jointly with the then South African Minister of Finance, Derek Keys (September 1994)
  • Named Euromoney's African Finance Minister of the year (1997)
  • Inducted as a member of South African Academy of Engineering (February 2001)
  • Doctorate of Commerce honoris causa from University of Stellenbosch (December 2001)
  • Doctorate of Commerce honoris causa from University of the Western Cape (March 2002)
  • Doctorate of Technology honoris causa from Peninsula Technikon (March 2002)
  • Doctorate of Technology honoris causa from Technikon South Africa (November 2002)
  • Doctorate of Economics honoris causa from University of Natal (April 2003)
  • Doctorate of Technology honoris causa from Free State Technikon (2003)
  • Awarded Johannesburg Press Association Newsmaker of the year for 2005
  • Doctorate of Law honoris causa from Rhodes University (April 2006)
  • Presidential award by the Institute of Personnel Management (IPM), Johannesburg (October 2006)
  • Management Excellence Award (MANEX) by Wits Business School (October 2006)
  • Awarded the Africa Finance Minister of the Year (2007)
  • Awarded the Woodrow Wilson Public Service Award (2008)